I wonder what it’s like to be a rain maker

22 Sep

I’ve been missing my blog for some weeks now while feeling bits of inspiration here and there. Do to my passionate nature I tend to develop an impassable writing block when I don’t feel entirely inspired—Story of my life…wanting to have the cake… red velvet…cream cheese frosting…100% calorie free…cupcake size… nothing but the most delightful delicacy.

Today’s spark was ignited by a throwback jam, “One Headlight” by The Wallflowers. I heard it last night when I popped into Amsterdam Tavern to visit my long time and wonderful friend Carly. Unfortunately for me it was her day off, but since making friends with the bartender prior to a Fashion Week event last week, he offered to buy me a beer. How can one refuse a free beer? I can’t.

Hanging at the bar, drinking my xyz beer (forget the name- but was intrigued by its argyle tap handle), this song came on. I was feeling it instantly- and was grooving along with the stranger to my left. To my pleasant surprise it seems we weren’t the only ones, as the place began to flood with sounds of ‘1/2 in the bag’ drunkies, trying to remember and sing along to the lyrics.

We can call it simple or ironic but for me it was a result of a community of people, instantaneously coming together in an unstructured setting, to share a moment of pure joy and evident ease.

I cherish moments like these. Sub conscious or not,  I hope these documents will encourage others to experience or contribute to a positive state of movement such as this.

“Come on try a little Nothing is forever There’s got to be something better than In the middle.”
-The Wallflowers
Leave a Reply

